ALNM16 Performer Collage

Tuesday, March 6, 2018

Broadway’s J. Elaine Marcos and MadTV’s Michelle Ortiz Co-Host Night of New Songs!

ALNM16 Poster“Bringing the best of new musical theatre to LA, one song at a time.” -LA WEEKLY

“A Little New Music presents the best new songs musical theatre has to offer, and audiences can’t get enough of it.”

On Tuesday, March 6 at 8:30pm, Broadway’s J. Elaine Marcos (PRISCILLA QUEEN OF THE DESERT, ANNIE) and Michelle Ortiz (“MadTV”) will co-host A Little New Music for its 16th presentation of contemporary musical theater melodies at the historic Catalina Jazz Club, under the guest music direction of singer, songwriter, and arranger Jan Roper (Hollywood Bowl, Musical Theatre Guild).

Our lineup of writers and performers presenting 2 World Premieres and 8 West Coast Premieres:

The concert features songs from composers and lyricists Fleitman & Bassett (THE AVERAGE SIZED MERMAID), Drew Fornarola (CLAUDIO QUEST, STRAIGHT), Brett Ryback (PASSING THROUGH), Selda Sahin & Derek Gregor (Grind The Movie), Spencer Robelen (“MuseMatch”), Matthew McCollum (THE BALLAD OF BRIGHTWATER), Waldkirch & Lowder (SAVE ME A SPOT), Rona Siddiqui (NYMF’s “Women of Note”), McGuire & Simon (EXPRESS), Sam Johnides and Tony Gonzalez (TRUMP IN SPACE), and Roper & Weiner (CITY OF LIGHT) — plus a new song from Kerrigan-Lowdermilk (THE MAD ONES, TALES FROM THE BAD YEARS)!

Talent from stage and screen includes Tony nominee Valarie Pettiford (FOSSE), Misty Cotton (B’way: MISS SAIGON, Off-B’way: MARVELOUS WONDERETTES), Deedee Magno Hall (MISS SAIGON, IF/THEN, TV: “Steven Universe”) and Cliffton Hall (B’way: LES MIS, MISS SAIGON), Tom DeTrinis (30 Minute Musicals co-creator, upcoming DIE MOMMIE DIE at CTG), Jessica Reiner-Harris (UCB’s “Quick & Funny Musicals”), Anthea Neri (East West Players’ NEXT TO NORMAL), Alex Nee (National Tour: ONCE), Benai Boyd (“Big Little Lies,” FROZEN LIVE AT THE HYPERION), Domonique Paton (HAIRSPRAY & GRINCH national tours), Tiana Okoye (HAIRSPRAY LIVE!), Clayton Farris (“Grey’s Anatomy”, “Scream Queens”), Kate Ponzio (Sierra Madre Playhouse’s MARVELOUS WONDERETTES), Keir Kirkegaard (JURASSIC PARK at Rockwell), Chelsea Rae Bernier (BARBIE LIVE!), and Everjohn Feliciano (After Hours Theatre Company’s DOGFIGHT).

With a special guest performance from singer/songwriter/multi-instrumentalist Chris Pierce and his band, sharing a new song from his and co-writer Mark Malone’s developing show, REVEREND TALL TREE’S BLUES OPERA.

Our ALNM Band for the evening is musical Director Jan Roper (keys), Emily Rosenfield (guitar), Mike Saucier (bass), Greg Sadler (drums), with a special appearance on sax from vocalist/multi-instrumentalist Jenny Ing (of L.A. Transfer and Thelonius Monkey).

Quickly becoming a signature LA institution, A Little New Music has proven to be an innovative concert series and incubator of new talent. Discover your new favorite musical theater songs in a plush cabaret setting before they become the stuff of Broadway legend!

Tuesday, March 6th
Doors 7:00p, Showtime 8:30p

Catalina Jazz Club
6725 West Sunset Boulevard Hollywood, CA 90028
Club entrance and convenient parking ($6) on N McCadden Place.
*The Catalina charges a $0.45 music royalty fee per patron.

About the Concert Series

A LITTLE NEW MUSIC is the best hour of new and unheard musical theater material in LA. Whether a premiere from an established writer or an undiscovered tune from a promising up-and-comer, our mission is to showcase these talents with a program that keeps your finger on the pulse of the musical theater scene.

Since 2013, A Little New Music has introduced an impressive array of nearly 200 songs by over 120 writing teams, including Sankoff & Hein (COME FROM AWAY), Academy Award and Tony Award winners Pasek & Paul (LA LA LAND, DEAR EVAN HANSEN), Miller & Tysen (TUCK EVERLASTING), Ryan Scott Oliver (35MM), Carmel Dean, Kerrigan & Lowdermilk (THE MAD ONES), Carner & Gregor (ISLAND SONG), Milburn & Vigoda (ERNEST SHACKLETON LOVES ME), Adam Gwon (ORDINARY DAYS), Joe Iconis (THE BLACK SUITS), Drew Fornarola (CLAUDIO QUEST), Matt Gould (WITNESS UGANDA), Zoe Sarnak, Gregory Nabours, and many more.

Songs have been showcased by over 200 performers of the stage and screen including Tony Award winner Daisy Eagan (THE SECRET GARDEN), Tony Award-winning writer Jeff Marx (AVENUE Q), Krysta Rodriguez (SPRING AWAKENING; “Smash”), John Tartaglia (AVENUE Q, SHREK THE MUSICAL), Nicole Parker (WICKED, “MADtv”), Jon Jon Briones (MISS SAIGON), Kevin Chamberlin (SEUSSICAL, DISASTER THE MUSICAL) Shoshana Bean (WICKED), Eric Petersen (SCHOOL OF ROCK), Barrett Foa (25th ANNUAL PUTNAM COUNTY SPELLING BEE, “NCIS: LA”), Michael A. Shepperd (LITTLE SHOP OF HORRORS), and many more.